Baker Boy, Courtney Barnett, Camp Cope, Laura Jean and Mojo Juju Lead Music VIC Awards Nominations

Written by Jay-Dee Pitcaithly on 12th October, 2018
Baker Boy, Courtney Barnett, Camp Cope, Laura Jean and Mojo Juju Lead Music VIC Awards Nominations

The Age Music Victoria Awards announced their list of nominees for the 2018 awards, with some of Australia's best independent artists being celebrated.

This year's nominations are led by Courtney Barnett and Baker Boy, who have each scored five nominations in the publicly-voted awards, with both acts being nominated in every eligible category. The classically inspired folk artist Laura Jean, Zambian poet, singer-songwriter, and rapper, Sampa The Great, Soulful powerhouse Mojo Juju and everyone's favourite alternative rock trio Camp Cope have also been nominated for four awards, while, progressive fusion four piece Mildlife, supergroup Tropical F*ck Storm and the fierce queen of soul Kaiit are all up for three awards.

Back for its thirteenth year, the Music Victoria Awards is Australia's largest publicly voted music awards, set to be handed out on Wednesday, November 21st during Melbourne Music Week.

Voting is now open for the awards, with the public able to vote in categories such as Best Album, Best Band, Best Song, Best Solo Artist, Best Male Musician, Best Female Musician, Best Breakthrough Act, Best Live Band, Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity), and Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity).

Voting will be open until midnight on Friday, November 9th. 

Check out Music Victoria's playlists on Spotify to get a full lowdown on this year's nominees.

The Age Music Victoria Awards 2018 Nominees

Public-Voted Nominees

The Premier's Prize for the Best Victorian Album of 2018 - $10,000 Cash Prize

Camp Cope - How To Socialise & Make Friends
Courtney Barnett - Tell Me How You Really Feel
Laura Jean - Devotion
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - Hope Downs
Sampa The Great - Birds And The Bee9

Best Band

Camp Cope
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever
Tropical F*ck Storm

Best Song

Baker Boy - Marryuna
Camp Cope - The Opener
Courtney Barnett - Nameless, Faceless
Laura Jean - Girls On The TV
Mojo Juju - Native Tongue

Best Solo Artist

Alex Lahey
Angie McMahon
Baker Boy
Courtney Barnett
Laura Jean
Mojo Juju
Sampa The Great
Tash Sultana
Vance Joy

Best Male Musician

Danzal Baker (Baker Boy)
Didirri Peters (Didirri)
Gareth Liddiard (Tropical F*ck Storm)
Jake Robertson (School Damage, Alien Nosejob)
Tom Iansek (No Mono)

Best Female Musician

Courtney Barnett
Erica Dunn (Tropical F*ck Storm, MOD CON, Palm Springs)
Laura Englert (Laura Jean)
Mojo "Juju" Ruiz De Luzuriaga (Mojo Juju)
Sampa Tembo (Sampa The Great)

The Premier's Prize for the Best Victorian Breakthrough Act of 2018 - $5000 Cash Prize

Angie McMahon
Baker Boy

Best Live Act

Amyl And The Sniffers
Baker Boy
Cable Ties
Courtney Barnett
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard

Best Small Venue (under 500 capacity)

The Gasometer, Collingwood
Howler, Brunswick
Northcote Social Club, Northcote
The Old Bar, Fitzroy
The Tote, Collingwood

Best Large Venue (over 500 capacity)

170 Russell, Melbourne
Corner Hotel, Richmond
The Croxton Bandroom, Thornbury
Hamer Hall, Southbank
Melbourne Recital Centre, Southbank

Industry-Voted Nominees

Best Festival

Golden Plains
Meredith Music Festival
Sugar Mountain
Wet Fest

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Act

Benny Walker
Freya Josephine Hollick
High Tension
This Way North

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Over 50 gigs per year)

Barwon Club, South Geelong
Caravan Music Club, Bentleigh East
Karova Lounge, Ballarat
Sooki Lounge, Belgrave
The Workers Club, Geelong

Best Regional/Outer Suburban Venue (Under 50 gigs per year)

Aireys Pub, Aireys Inlet
Blues Train, Queenscliff
Meeniyan Town Hall, Meeniyan
Theatre Royal, Castlemaine
Wandi Pub, Wandiligong

Archie Roach Foundation Award for Emerging Talent

Alice Skye
Baker Boy
Willow Beats

Best Blues Album

Collard Greens And Gravy - Luedella
Fiona Boyes - Voodoo In The Shadows
Lloyd Spiegel - Backroads
Rhythm X Revival - Rhythm X Revival
Steve Boyd's Rum Reverie - Hoodoo Hipshake

Best Country Album

Ben Mastwyk & The Millions - Winning Streak
Freya Josephine Hollick - Feral Fusion
Greta Ziller - Queen Of Boomtown
James Ellis & The Jealous Guys - It's Ain't Texas (But It Ain't Bad)
Michael Waugh - The Asphalt & The Oval

Best Electronic Act

Alice Ivy
Cale Sexton

Best Experimental or Avant-Garde Act

Aviva Endean
Maria Moles
Nat Grant
Romy Fox

Best Folk or Roots Album

Cat Canteri - Inner North
Lucy Wise - Winter Sun
Luke Plumb & The Circuit - Turn ReTurn
Michael Waugh - The Asphalt & The Oval
Trouble In The Kitchen - The Score

Best Global Act

Cool Out Sun
Digital Afrika
Mojo Juju
Senegambian Jazz Band
Xylouris White

Best Heavy Album

Dangerous Curves - So Dirty Right
Dream On Dreamer - It Comes And Goes
Encircling Sea - Hearken
High Tension - Purge
YLVA - Meta

Best Hip Hop Act

Baker Boy
Jordan Dennis
Sampa The Great

Best Jazz Album

30/70 - Elevate
Barney McAll - Hearing The Blood
Menagerie - The Arrow Of Time
Origami - Wu Xing - The 5 Elements
Sam Anning Sextet - Across A Field As Vast As One

Best Reggae and Dancehall Act

Marvin Priest & Rik-E-Ragga
Melbourne Ska Orchestra
Monkey Marc
Ras Jahknow
Yaw Faso

Best Rock/Punk Album

Camp Cope - How to Socialise & Make Friends
Divide and Dissolve - Abomination
Little Ugly Girls - Little Ugly Girls
Sarah Mary Chadwick - Sugar Still Melts In The Rain
Tropical F*ck Storm - A Laughing Death in Meatspace

Best Soul, Funk, RnB Album

30/70 - Elevate
The Bamboos - Night Time People
Billy Davis - A Family Portrait
Mildlife - Phase
Sampa The Great - Birds and The BEE9

Voting is open now at the Music Victoria website and closes at midnight on Friday, November 9th

The Age Music Victoria Awards

Wednesday, November 21st, 7pm
Melbourne Recital Centre, Melbourne, VIC